General Gaming News

12 Multiplayer Maps Confirmed For Star Wars: Battlefront


DICE and EA have confirmed that there will be 12 playable multiplayer maps in their upcoming Star Wars shooter on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.

“Of the 12 multiplayer maps in Star Wars Battlefront (there are even more locations when you include the Star Wars Battlefront Missions), some feel immediately familiar — such as the lush forests of Endor or the tundra of Hoth that allow you to re-live your favorite moments from the films,” developer DICE wrote in a recent blog update. “Some of the maps support our epic modes like Walker Assault, while others are tailored to more intimate, close quarters combat. Our goal is to bring a variety of battle fantasies to life, with map design catering to the modes that will play out on those maps.”

Thus far, four environments have been named as locations players will be able to visit in Battlefront — Tatooine, Hoth, the forest moon of Endor, and Sullust.

The studio’s latest post focuses primarily around the new planet, Sullust, which was mentioned in Return of the Jedi, but never seen. Designers at DICE hope to bring the new location to life “with black sharp rocks, huge land shifts, red lava, turquoise lakes, and white smoke…everything to make it really colorful yet imposing and threatening,” Concept Artist Anton Grandert explained.

Players of the older Rogue Squadron games will remember a level taking place on the volcanic planet.  Although the rudimentary graphics of the time, at least by modern standards, did not do the locale justice.

You can read more over on the official blog.

The products below are affiliate links, we get a commission for any purchases made. If you want to help support ISKMogul at no additional cost, we really appreciate it.
10976 posts

About author
ISKMogul is a growing video game publication that got its start covering EVE Online, and has since expanded to cover a large number of topics and niches within the purview of gaming.