General Gaming News

Pokemon Go kicks off Lunar New Year events with Shiny spawns and bonus XP

Pokemon Go Kicks off Lunar New Year Events

Niantic has kicked off the next phase of in-game events for Pokémon Go and it’s a big one.

The event will run until February 13th and will feature a bunch of bonuses and event specialties for gamers to enjoy. One of the bigger additions is the inclusion of a bunch of new Shiny spawns and special versions of different Pokémon from across different generations. Each of these special spawns is styled after the various symbolic animals common to the traditional Chinese zodiac.

2019 is the Year of the Pig, which means Spoink is the big boy this time around. Players will get an increased chance at Shiny spawns of that particular entry on the massive roster. Of course, Niantic is also including a bunch of other cool spawns, find the list below.

Pokemon Go Lunar New Year Event spawns

  • Rattata (Rat)
  • Ekans (Snake)
  • Mankey (Moneky)
  • Ponyta (Horse)
  • Electabuzz (Tiger)
  • Dratini (Dragon)
  • Mareep (Sheep)
  • Miltank (Ox)
  • Torchic (Rooster)
  • Poochyena (Dog)
  • Spoink (Pig)
  • Buneary (Rabbit)

The events will also feature doubled XP for captures, as well as double XP for evolutions. The final bonus comes in the form of increased chances for your stable to develop into Lucky Pokémon.

Pokémon Go Lunar New Year event ends on February 13 at 1pm PST/ 4pm EST/, 9pm UK/ 10pm CET. So that means trainers need to get on things if they want to take advantage of the bonuses.

READ MORE  Where to find Naku Weed in Genshin Impact

In other news, Niantic recently released another wave of Pokémon from the Sinnoh region, and these Gen 4 Pokémon are something fans have been asking for over a long time.

Other updates to the game have included the long-awaited inclusion of trainer PvP. There was also a string new Raids which included some brand new Legendary Poké friends. And of course there’s the Swinub Community Day which is set to kick off on February 16 at 11am PST. And just like other events, it will include a rare chance to grab both the evolved form Mamoswine, and Shiny variants of both forms.

Pokémon Go is out now for iOS and Android mobile devices.

The products below are affiliate links, we get a commission for any purchases made. If you want to help support ISKMogul at no additional cost, we really appreciate it.

8752 posts

About author
ISKMogul is a growing video game publication that got its start covering EVE Online, and has since expanded to cover a large number of topics and niches within the purview of gaming.
Articles