Tutorials

How to switch from classic to reforged graphics in Warcraft 3: Reforged

Warcraft 3: Reforged

Blizzard has just released a new version of Warcraft 3: Reforged, complete with an entire graphical overhaul. But fans of the original version need not despair, as you can opt to swap between the old look and the new HD version at any time. Here’s how to switch from classic to reforged graphics in Warcraft 3: Reforged.

We’ve already been through a few guides for Warcraft 3: Reforged, so here’s another one for you. Previously we covered all the singleplayer cheats in the remaster. For you new folks there’s a guide on the minimum recommended specs to run the game. There was even a quick primer on which content was included in the new release from the older version. Now we’ve got one more for you. How to switch from classic to reforged graphics in Warcraft 3: Reforged.

Here’s the basic process right from Blizzard:

  1. Open the Menu by pressing the Esc key
  2. Click Options
  3. At the bottom of the left column, toggle Classic or Reforged as preferred.

If you need more details, here’s a step by step guide on how to change these settings.

When you boot the game and you’re on the main menu, look for the options button. You should also be able to press Esc to toggle the menu as well. The options button is found in lower right-hand corner of the screen. You will see Options on that menu. Within Options, toggle between Classic or Reforged at your preference.

READ MORE  Do you have storage space in Minecraft Dungeons?

You can swap between the two systems of graphics at any time, and right back if you want. You can even change the selection the middle of a campaign save. You just need to reset the game for all the graphical effects to apply after you do.

Interestingly, there’s a bit of a quirk between the two versions. There are actually two versions of the game. It seems that Blizzard simply bundled the original version of the game into the new Reforged executable and files. For example, if you complete the game with the reforged graphics, and then switch to classic, all of your save progress in the previous campaign run won’t be there. So just make sure to choose which look you want to play offline with early, to avoid losing any progress if you want to switch over.

6822 posts

About author
ISKMogul is a growing video game publication that got its start covering EVE Online, and has since expanded to cover a large number of topics and niches within the purview of gaming.
Articles