How to Change Difficulty in Diablo Immortal

Diablo Immortal Paragon Levels Explained

Diablo Immortal is looking to shake up the RPG and mobile gaming scene this week, with its first foray into slaying demons on the go. Diablo Immortal is here, and bringing the slaying of legions of demons to a new generation. With it being a mobile-first title, there’s some concern over how deep the RPG mechanics actually are. A player shouldn’t be worried, there’s a lot of meat on these bones. One of the returning elements from previous games is the leveling system.

Players who get to the level cap of 60 have a lot more exploration and killing left to do. The Paragon Levels in Diablo Immortal are pretty robust. With six Paragon trees in the game, there’s a lot of build variety to uncover. Players can specialize in areas for PvE or PvP, and even get buffs to loot drops. If you’re all about farming rare items, there’s a tree for you. If you want to just slay demons, there’s plenty of choices for that as well.

And when you really get into the weeds, you find yourself wanting a more challenging experience, that’s why Blizzard worked in a more varied difficulty system this time. When you want to ratchet up the difficulty, that’s easy to do. Here’s how to change difficulty in Diablo Immortal.

How to Change Difficulty in Diablo Immortal

As you get stronger and make more focused builds, you will find a need for more challenging fights. Diablo II and III added tons of scaling difficulty, challenging even the toughest warriors with the threat of death. And that premise has been slimmed down a bit, but works on the same basic idea as previous games, for Immortal. Players have to unlock higher difficulty ratings, and they can expect more lethal monsters that have more health as they work their way up.

When you’re in any hub areas, there should be a difficulty option that says “tap to adjust difficulty” in the upper right. But before you can use that, you need to unlock higher levels.

Higher difficulty levels are locked until you reach the base level cap of 60. You need to prove you’re ready to take them on first, which makes sense. There are four levels beyond the basic level. Each one is called Hell, and up to Hell Level 4, you need to have a certain number of Paragon Levels to access them. Each difficulty scales both monster stats and loot drops, so keep that in mind. Here’s the breakdown.

  • Normal: Character Level 1-60, base monster combat rating
  • Hell 1: Paragon Level 1-60, monster combat rating of 390
  • Hell 2: Paragon Level 30-130, monster combat rating of 1190
  • Hell 3: Paragon Level 90-210, monster combat rating of 2150
  • Hell 4: Paragon Level 160-300, monster combat rating of 3270
READ MORE  How to change your work outfit in The Sims 4 (2023)

The reason Blizzard did this is to properly implement a scaled gaering system. If you’re crushing Hell 2, you won’t get great drops that are useful to you. The idea is that a player should be moderately challenged and given appropriate rewards. So if you’re running a build that’s too powerful for Hell 2, try Hell 3 or 4 and see how well you do. They will be tougher, but the rewarding drops should be more worth the effort.

Combat Rating Explained

You might have noticed that Combat Rating listed above, I promise it’s important. Similar to Equipment, Monster Combat Rating also advances with higher difficulty. Combat in Diablo Immortal is based on a comparison between the character’s Combat Rating and the Monster’s Combat Rating.

Each of the five primary attributes (Intelligence, Strength, Fortitude, Vitality, and Willpower) will affect the combat rating for your character. You need to be aware of the gap between your rating and the rating of monsters you’re fighting if you want to succeed. Combat Rating is one of the most important aspects of the game. If the monster has a higher rating, you will have difficulty taking them down.

The products below are affiliate links, we get a commission for any purchases made. If you want to help support ISKMogul at no additional cost, we really appreciate it.
10976 posts

About author
ISKMogul is a growing video game publication that got its start covering EVE Online, and has since expanded to cover a large number of topics and niches within the purview of gaming.